A gathering place for readers, writers, and other advocates for a more just world

Several of my posts (including the most recent) include a call to collaborate, a favorite objective of mine.  Working together with others is (to me) more fun, and the results are always more remarkable than anything my small but creative mind can conceive. Then this thought came to me:  if I were in a gathering with remarkable people (like my readers), what would we be doing?

I would expect the gathering to have a social justice focus, but that is an extremely broad subject enveloping grave issues and mountainous obstacles. If I meant to take a leadership role, I might lay out a plan to address one of my preferred issues—but then I would lose some whose motivation was directed toward something else. (This has happened to me…)  Instead of narrowing our focus to a primary issue, we could be more effective focusing on a single method.

Let’s assume the group’s chosen method is to communicate in writing a clear picture of an issue(s) with possible solutions including personal opinions, offered only after first presenting a balanced assessment based on research.  Because we are a collaborative team, we could help each other by first debating issues and discovering accurate information. Then we would critique what is written, locate applicable visual aids, and help to disseminate the final script through our own blogs, email lists and other sources for social and sacred networking.

With this action plan, every participant can do what they do best and appeal to what has captured their interest and imagination.  With this approach to collaborating, the question is changed from on what to with whom.

With you?

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

